6 Comments

When I was a kid, my favorite Street Fighter character was E. Honda. In elementary school, I found a book in my school's library about the history of Japan. Part of it explained the origins and religious significance of sumo, which I thought was pretty cool. Around that time I discovered that the same public access station (are those still around?} that sometimes aired anime would also sometimes air sumo tournaments at like 4am. I immediately loved it. When I started with wrestling, I'd do a chirichozu before every match, and it became enough of a habit that I still do it before every roll and sparring session. Helps me get my mind centered. Also I think it makes me look cool. If amateur sumo for men over the age of 30 ever becomes a thing in Europe, apologies to my wife, but I'm gonna be bulking up on chanko and giving it a go.

I just love everything about it. The rich cultural history and traditions, the stories and personalities, and the skill, technique, and strength on display.

Expand full comment

Joey from California. Engineer, Wrestler, BJJ purple belt, 40k and MTG nerd.

I got hooked on combat sports after watching Korean Zombie vs. Leonard Garcia 1 in the WEC. This led me to wrestling and BJJ with hopes of glory someday, only to realize that I'm happier as a fan than a fighter.

A spontaneous internet search led me to sumo. Two years of online fascination culminated into a trip to Japan this recent May.

I couldn't tell you why a person enjoys one thing over another. But, sumo is that thing for me right now.

Expand full comment